Brand Focus: Clinique

Well, I decided to start something new. I love trying new makeup brands and trying different products from different brands. So, now I will occasionally do some brand focus posts. These posts will focus on one certain brand that I really love or that is super popular at the moment.

I got this idea from the lovely Estee (or essiebutton on YouTube). She has done a handful of these types of videos (and posts) and has inspired me to give it a try for myself. She has done some brand focus videos on Bourjois, Tarte, Bobbi Brown, and Soap & Glory. Feel free to check those videos out!

So, I decided to do my first ever brand focus on where this all started: Clinique (aka one of my all time favorite high end companies). No, I didn’t start out working at Clinique and then moved my way up the beauty hierarchy. The first makeup products I got were from Clinique. I remember opening up the present (from my aunt) and being shocked when I saw the products.

I ended up getting a powder blush (in my long time staple color: Mocha Pink), an neutral eyeshadow and blush kit thingie (it came in this little square packaging with an apple on the front), a foam-y cleanser, a gel cleanser, and a face powder (which I repurchased at least twice). I was about 11 or 12 and was absolutely head over heels in love with the products I got.

I still continue to repurchase (and use) my favorite products from my younger years.

But, as the years go on, I start to fall in love with new Clinique products that pop up. I had to sprint to the Clinique counter whenever a new chubby stick comes out. I love trying out their new foundations and powders. Their blushes continue to amaze me.

Before I get into the amazing products (links and other stuff will be included), I need to give a little background info about this amazing company. Clinique was actually “born” by Estee Lauder and her daughter-in-law Evelyn Lauder in 1968. They recruited Dr. Orentreich and Carol Phillips to help make the world’s first dermatologist-driven and allergy tested cosmetic line. Evelyn was reason why all Clinique workers wear white lab coats. Evelyn wore white lab coats while working at the training director for Clinique (how neat is that?).

Clinique has been growing and growing as the years go on. They have all different types of skincare and beauty products and continue to come out with new and exciting products.

Well, now it is time to get to my favorite products!

Brand Focus: Clinique

Let’s do this!

First off, I love the new Cheek Pops ($21). They come in four different colors: a plum shade, a peachy shade, a berry shade, and a pinky shade. The design on these blushes are amazingly beautiful and the pigmentation is out of this world. The great thing about these blushes is that they can be sheered out and look more natural or you can build it up to have more of a pop of color on your cheeks.

I feel the need to mention this foundation in almost every post I put up. The Clinique Acne Solutions Liquid Makeup ($27) is my go to foundation. It has great coverage and can have a natural look or can be built up to a heavier coverage. I think I should stop talking about how much I love this because I already have a post dedicated to it (here).

As mentioned in my little intro, I love the Clinique powder blushes. The next product is the Soft Pressed Powder Blush in Mocha Pink ($21). Mocha pink is the perfect muted pink/nude color. It works really well with my skin tone and always seems to look natural.

Since I have been doing all makeup up to this point, I will continue talking about the rest of the makeup before I get to the skincare products.

The next two products are chubby sticks. Clinique recently came out with chubby sticks for cheeks ($21). I think that I fell in  love with these as soon as they came out because I have been looking for a really good cream blush. These blushes glide on so smoothly and you don’t even need a brush to apply them (you can use your hands!). They come in four colors that all have excellent pigmentation. I love the color Robust Rhubarb (which is kind of a peachy coral-y color).

The other Chubby Stick product I absolutely can’t live without is the Chubby Sticks Moisturizing Lip Color Balm ($17). They come in so many moisturizing shades and there is definitely a color for you. There is your classic red (Two Ton Tomato) to the perfect nude lip color (Heaping Hazelnut) and even the most perfect pink shades (Mighty Mimosa and Woppin’ Watermelon). These lip colors glide on perfectly and help nourish your lips while still giving a great color payoff.

Now onto the eyeshadows. I absolutely love the Clinique eyeshadow duos and quads. My current favorite eyeshadow duo is in the shade Jammin’ ($20). There is a base color (which is a neutral cream colored shadow) and a crease/contouring color (a beautiful violet purple color). I feel like these colors work really well together and compliment each other perfectly. Some of the other duos I like are Strawberry Fudge (the base is a beautiful pink color and the crease color is a light brown) and Neutral Territory (aka the perfect neutral eyeshadow duo. The base color is a nice cream color and the crease color is a smoky gray).

The other eyeshadow product is an eyeshadow quad, which is sadly not pictured :(. I love the Morning Java ($28) eyeshadow quad. It has some neutral colors. The first color is a great lid color and is a really nice matte color. The next two colors are super shimmery and help me get the perfect smoky eye.  The last color is a great liner color (for both the lower lash line and the upper lash liner). This eyeshadow quad can make so many eyeshadow looks and really work well with my brown eyes.

Now onto the amazing skincare options. Clinique has so many great skincare options and it was very difficult to narrow it down to three skincare products, but I somehow did it. Let’s start with a new holy grail product for millions of girls: the Acne Solutions Clearing Gel ($25). I tried a little bit of this when my friend insisted on me trying it. I absolutely loved it so much. I tend to have a problem with acne (like most girls) and have been searching for a good spot treatment. This clearing gel from Clinique is like my saving grace. It works really well at clearing up acne from the first use. It helps prevent new acne while helping with the current acne. I think every girl that struggles with acne should definitely give this product a try. It is well worth the money and definitely help with your acne issues.

I have to include a sunscreen because I am now getting into using SPF everyday. I love the Clinique Broad Spectrum Sunscreen Face Cream with SPF 50 ($21). I love that it helps combat UVA and UVB rays and also has a really high amount of SPF. It is dermatologist tested and also is good for sensitive skin. Some sunscreens make my sensitive skin react and get irritated, but this sunscreen doesn’t mess up my skin.

The last product is another holy grail product that millions of people use. It is the Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion+ ($26). There are a few options you can choose from when buying this product (with or without a pump or even in a squeeze bottle). This is a go to moisturizer for those with insanely dry skin or if you get prone to dry patches. It sinks into the skin quickly and moisturizes for hours on end. This is just a really good and reliable moisturizer.

Thanks for reading along! I hope you learned about Clinique and decide to give these products a try. If you have any post suggestions, then comment down below and I will do them as soon as possible. Be sure to follow me on Twitter and like me on Facebook.

I hope you have a fantastic day! #StayBeautiful

One thought on “Brand Focus: Clinique

  1. Pingback: Monthly Blog Roundup (July 2014) | Bella's Beauty Box

Leave a Reply

