Splurge or Save: Mascara

Well, I love trying out different mascaras. Mascara is my daily go to makeup essential. Whenever I wear makeup, I’m wearing mascara. I don’t know how some people get by without mascara. I absolutely love mascara so much .

And on this #MascaraMonday, I decided to do a mascara comparison for you all. I love comparing mascaras and finding out which ones are similiar to other ones and which ones work better. I also love finding amazing drugstore mascaras that are extraordinary.

I decided to do a splurge or save. Basically I am going to compare two mascaras that are on opposite sides of the price range. One product will be a higher end product and the other will be a drugstore product. I will compare these two products and give an honest review (check out the disclaimer page).

20140714-121846-44326056.jpg

 

I chose to do my first Splurge or Save on two mascaras that are cult favorites. The first one is the Clinique High Impact Extreme Volume Mascara. The other mascara is the Covergirl LashBlast Volume Mascara.

These two mascaras are loved by millions of people. Everyone talks about these mascaras. They are both volumizing mascaras and are amazingย mascaras that deserve to be talked about.

20140714-121920-44360004.jpg

Ok, let’s do this thing!

Clinique High Impact Extreme Volume Mascara ($19.50)

Brush: It has a longer and slightly thicker brush with bristles that are the same size all across the brush.

Formula: I felt that this formula seemed a little odd to me. First, it seems really thick on my lashes. Secondly, it does clump my lashes together like there is no tomorrow. One perk is that it doesn’t really smudge on my eyes, but there is a little flaking that happens throughout the day.

Overall: I bought this with high hopes because I absolutely love a lot of Clinique’s products. But this mascara just was a let down. I thought it would be extremely volumizing and would make my lashes look like falsies, but it just clumped and slightly irritated my eyes.

Clinique LashBlast Volume Mascara ($7.99)

Brush: This brush is thicker than the Clinique mascara and has a range of different bristle sizes (smaller at the tip and larger towards the end of the brush).

Formula: This formula worked really well with my lashes. It seems a little wet at the beginning, but it doesn’t make my lashes overly “crispy”. This mascara doesn’t smudge and doesn’t really flake either. It is one of the best formulas I have ever tried.

Overall: I absolutely love this mascara. The formula is great and the brush is amazing. This mascara makes my lashes so long and volumizing. I don’t have the waterproof formula, but it doesn’t melt off when I sweat or when it rains. This mascara makes my lashes incredible.

I believe the verdict is to definitely save. The Covergirl mascara is definitely a winner and completely blows the Clinique mascara away.

Thanks for reading! I hope you have a fantastic day and don’t forget to #StayBeautiful!

3 thoughts on “Splurge or Save: Mascara

    • I’ve been meaning to try the Clump Crusher because I have heard so many great things about it. Covergirl mascaras are some of my favorites.

  1. Pingback: Monthly Blog Roundup (July 2014) | Bella's Beauty Box

Leave a Reply

